Review | Vichy Normaderm Anti-Age

20130709-072344.jpg

Now that I’ve entered my mid-twenties(!), I’ve started thinking more about anti-aging and that it’s probably time for me to jump on the bandwagon. Prevention not reversal, etc. I have oily skin with blocked pores and blemishes, so I’d stayed away from anti-aging products for fear that the extra moisture so many provide would be too much for me. Plus my main problem is blemishes and congested skin. Enter Vichy Normaderm Anti-Age. Vichy is a French pharmacy brand and the Normaderm range is designed for acne-prone skin. I bought mine at Walgreens for $25.

Vichy Normaderm Anti-Age is a very light weight moisturizer with glycolic acid, LHA, and Vitamin C. In case you’re not sure what those are or why they matter, I’ll give you a brief explanation. Glycolic acid is an AHA (alpha-hydroxy acid) that works on the surface of the skin as a chemical exfoliant. It resurfaces the skin making the skin smoother and stimulating cell renewal. LHA works deeper in the skin to unclog pores (It is related to salicylic acid). Vitamin C has anti-aging and firming properties.

I’ve been using it twice a day, morning and night, for a few months now and I’ve noticed a big difference in my skin. My face no longer feels like it needs a good scrubbing and my blemishes have reduced significantly. My skin feels smooth, clean, and moisturized. When using a manual exfoliant or a harsher acne treatment, my skin would often get dehydrated (yes, you can have oily but dehydrated skin) and then freak out and produce even more oil and blemishes. This strikes the right balance for me. I wouldn’t say I’ve noticed much of a change in my pores, but in some places my pores look a little better. I’ll take what I can get!

If you have dryer skin, you might need to moisturize over this cream, but for me and my very oily skin, this is all the moisture I need. Of course we’re in the middle of summer right now, so once the weather starts to change I might need a bit more moisture, but for now this is working just fine. I still have problematic skin, this isn’t a miracle treatment, but it is the most effective treatment I’ve found so far, especially for the price. If your skin is anything like mine and you’re in the market for a glycolic based treatment, I highly recommend you give the Vichy Normaderm Anti-Age a try.

Leave a Reply

